Students, Foreign--Kentucky--Louisville

= Audio Available Online
An Iranian student at the University of Louisville discusses her background and her experiences at the university.
Dr. Iswari Pandey was a graduate student at UofL from 2000-2006. He describes the journey that led him to working in UofL’s Writing Center as a MA student and the learning curve he experienced working as a writing consultant for the first time. After completing his undergraduate and first graduate degree in Nepal, Iswari came to UofL and worked in the newly renovated tutoring facility under Dr. Carol Mattingly. He discusses how a compliment regarding his work with students, in addition to a series of gratifying circumstances helping writers, led him away from his primary interest in literary theory and on a career path in rhetoric and composition. After completing his MA, Iswari transferred to the PhD program at UofL and describes the role he played performing research for the National Writing Center Research Project—an endeavor that collected data on writing centers to assist newly forming departments establish themselves—and how his research turned into a publication for the Writing Center Journal. Iswari witnessed some of the first virtual appointments at the Writing Center and talks about adapting appointments to meet the needs of students in digital consultations. As a graduate student during a time digital use was growing, particularly with the rise in popularity of social media, Iswari details his thoughts on how digital writing has changed the way people think about rhetoric and writing practices.

Rimpal Patel era una estudiante internacional de Panamá de 20 años que había estado asistiendo a la Universidad de Louisville para estudiar enfermería durante dos años y medio en el momento de la entrevista. Está siguiendo una carrera en el cuidado de la salud y mencionó planes de estar en Louisville por 3 años más después de graduarse para hacer su maestría. Después de terminar sus estudios, planea volver a trabajar en Panamá.

En esta entrevista, Rimpal ofrece una descripción general de cómo fue crecer en Panamá siendo criado por padres de la India. Habla sobre la educación en Panamá y los Estados Unidos ahora que ha experimentado ambos y da una idea de sus diferentes identidades culturales. También aborda los conceptos erróneos con respecto a Panamá y su gente y brevemente da su opinión sobre el racismo y la política.

Rimpal Patel was a 20-year-old international student from Panama who had been attending the University of Louisville for nursing for 2.5 years at the time of the interview. She is pursuing a career in healthcare and mentioned plans of being in Louisville for 3 more years after graduating to do her Masters. After finishing her studies, she plans on going back to work in Panama.

In this interview, Rimpal gives an overview of what it was like growing up in Panama being raised by parents from India. She discusses education in Panama and the United States now that she has experienced both and gives insight into her different cultural identities. She also addresses misconceptions regarding Panama and its people and briefly gives her take on racism and politics.